ARCANE Bike / National Champion 2013

Our ARCANE Track Sprint Champion Bike Won its first National Title on Saturday (Sep 14). The Frame was only developed this year, and already has an Elite National Medal & A Veteran National Title


National Veteran Track Championships 2013: PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, 15 September 2013 08:28
Whelan Wins National Title / ACT Win 3 Medals: Brendan Whelan won the Veteran National Sprint title at the National Track Championships at Sundrive Velodrome on Saturday (Sep 14). Whelan had been the defending National Champion, but with Cycling Ireland changing the format for 2013 (to four separate events), Brendan was able to target his strongest discipline, winning the final 2 – 0 against top Irish Sprinter, and former Elite National Champion Jason Howick (Bray Wheelers). This is the multi National Medallists second National medal this year, having won an Elite Silver in the Team Sprint (With ACTs Liam Collins and Philip Ryan), and his third National Title in three consecutive years (from Elite to Veteran).

ACT also contested the 500m TT with Track cycling legend Liam Collins winning a Bronze (His 28th National Medal from Youth to Veteran), and the Scratch race where Collins and Fergus Whelan tried hard to keep Brendan Whelan in contention for another Win – However Aidan Reade (Black Rose) stole the show with a long lone breakaway to take his first National Win, Brendan Whelan had to settle for the Bronze behind Hugh Mulhearne (Carrick wheelers) Click Here For Gallery: